Contact

Doktorandenkonvent der Universität Heidelberg
Im Neuenheimer Feld 294
Raum 015 / 016
69120 Heidelberg

E-Mail: doktorandenkonvent@uni-heidelberg.de

Speakers:
Robert Lilow
Stefanie Kuen

 
Newsletter

Subscribe to the newsletter of the Convention (delivery approximately monthly)

 
Further Information

Frequently Asked Questions

All denominations for persons, offices and functions used in this FAQ apply equally to all sexes and genders.

§ 3 - Definitions and Classifications

What is a qualification position?

A qualification position is a position as academic assistant at the university which is dedicated to more than 50% for research with the purpose of writing a dissertation.

§ 4 - Executive Committee

Why is the executive committee composed of 11 members?

Both, the interests of the fields of study as well as the type of study should be represented within the executive committee. Since it is not automatically guaranteed that the different types of study are sufficiently represented by the fields of study representatives, in addition to the eight representatives of the fields of study, the positions of three representatives for each type of study were included.
Since each field of study comprises several faculties which in turn are subject to individual regulations, the field of study representatives should belong to different faculties. With two representatives per field of study, the executive committee is still capable of taking decisions in case that an individual member drops out.

Why is the Executive Committee composed of representatives of fields of study and not, for example, of the faculty representatives?

One representative per faculty would complicate the cooperative work and thus, limit the committee's ability to act. In addition, experience has shown that there is no guarantee to find a candidate for the executive committee from each faculty. When necessary, a faculty-related working group can handle specific questions, so that the faculty can assert its claims.

Why is there a distinction between types of study within the executive committee?

The Doctoral Students Convention aims to represent the interests of all graduate students. Since each type of study involves different interests, issues, hardships and demands, each of these types is granted a voice in the committee.

Why are the stipend holders not represented by a distinct board member?

Scholarship holders do not constitute a distinct type of study since this is a form of funding and not a way of obtaining a doctoral degree. As a matter of fact, scholarship holders either pursue an individual doctorate or are part of a graduate program; the two types of study shape the framework of the doctorate the but not the form of financing.

Why is it recommended that representatives at the Graduate Council are also members of the executive committee?

The arrangement aims at facilitating the communication of results from the Doctoral Students Convention. In this way, the Doctoral Students Convention can be perceived as common body of interest representation of doctoral students by other university institutions.

§ 5 - Election of the Executive Committee

Can I run for several executive committee positions simultaneously and how does it work?

Each candidate may run simultaneously for her field of study and her type of study, but can obtain only one seat. In case that she wins both seats, she will automatically obtain the seat for which she has received the most votes in percent.

Example:
Katharina (Chemistry/Individual Doctoral Student) runs for the seat of the natural sciences representative and for the individual doctoral student seat. She receives 300 out of 1,000 votes that were cast by doctoral students of the natural sciences, i.e. 30%. Among the individual doctoral students she receives 500 out of 2,000 votes, i.e. 25%. For both seats she obtains the majority of votes, thus winning the election for both seats. Although she has received more votes for the seat of the individual doctorate in absolute numbers, she is assigned the seat for her field of study.

I am not accepted as a doctoral student by my faculty - can I still participate in the election of the Doctoral Students Convention?

Unfortunately, only doctoral students accepted by their respective faculty are entitled to vote; this is determined by the State University Law of Baden-Württemberg.

Why can a person be re-elected up to five times?

It should be supported if someone wants to stay committed to the position throughout her entire doctorate. In that way, the continuity of the work of the executive committee is supported. On behalf of the doctorate of the committee members, the mandate should last no longer than six years.

Which type of study do I belong to?

It is not exceptional that a doctoral student belongs to multiple types of study. You can for example pursue individual doctorate or be a member of a graduate program and at the same time hold a qualification position. In this case, you can choose freely for which group you wish to vote. If a doctoral student belongs to two types of study, it is necessary that she opts for a PhD type and casts her vote within this category in order to avoid overlapping of votes.

When and where do I have to decide for which type of study I want to vote?

You decide for which type of study you want to vote at the latest on the election, i.e. at the general assembly when on presentation of the proof of the acceptance as a doctoral student the ballots are issued to you.

How are the seats of the fields of study granted to the different candidates?

Generally, the candidate with the majority of votes will win a seat. However, in order to have representatives from as many different faculties as possible, the second field of study seat will be granted to the candidate (with the most votes) who belongs to a faculty other than the first seat representative.

Example:
Alonso (Geography), Barbara (Informatics) and Cem (Mathematics) are candidates for the field of study “natural sciences”. A. receives 25% of the natural sciences doctoral students' votes, B. receives 40% and C 35%. Although C. got more votes than A., A. wins the second representative seat, as C. belongs to the same faculty as B. who won the first seat.

Why is the principle of juniority applied in case of a voting tie?

In order to ensure the continuity of the committee's work, doctoral students at the beginning of their doctorate will be given preference to doctoral students standing at the end of their doctorate, who may need to focus on finishing their dissertation.

Why is it necessary to present at least seven new candidates in case of recalling the current committee?

If a recall of the current committee is initiated (e.g. if the committee neglects its responsibilities), it should be “constructive” (constructive vote of no confidence, as it is stated in the electoral law of Germany), so that the representation of doctoral students' interests is guaranteed.

§6 - Regular Meetings

I want to bring forward an issue of interest to the Doctoral Students Convention - how should I proceed?

A request for an issue to be put on the agenda for a regular meeting must be sent to the committee two weeks in advance. However, if the agenda has already been published, it is possible to put the issue on the agenda in short notice as long as it does not outreach the time frame.

Why is only the committee eligible to vote at regular meetings?

This regulation ensures that at regular meetings no single group can enforce its particular interests through disproportionate presence. The structure of the executive committee as well as the vote restriction exclusively to the committee members guarantees that all doctoral students are equally represented, even if they cannot attend the regular session.

§ 7 - Working Groups

I want to initiate a working group and/or I have already discussed a specific topic with other doctoral students - how do I proceed?

Once at least three doctoral students determine a topic as important, they may request to establish an official working group; write an informal letter or an email to the executive committee, which then confirms this in the next regular meeting. Motivation and concerns for the respective subject or faculty should be briefly described.

Can I participate in all the working groups in principle?

Yes, except for the faculty-specific working groups to which only the doctoral students of the respective faculty are admitted.

What happens to the results of a working group?

They will be presented at a regular meeting and a summary will be posted on the website of the Doctoral Students Convention.

 

Responsible: Email
Latest Revision: 2016-09-16
zum Seitenanfang/up

Kontakt

Doktorandenkonvent der Universität Heidelberg
Im Neuenheimer Feld 294
Raum 015 / 016
69120 Heidelberg

E-Mail: doktorandenkonvent@uni-heidelberg.de

Sprecher:
Robert Lilow
Stefanie Kuen

 
Newsletter

Anmeldung zum Newsletter des Konvents (Versand etwa monatlich)

 
Weiterführende Informationen

Frequently Asked Questions

Alle in diesem FAQ verwendeten Bezeichnungen für Personen, Ämter und Funktionen gelten für alle Geschlechter gleichermaßen.

§ 3 - Definitionen und Zuordnungen

Was versteht man unter einer Qualifikationsstelle?

Unter einer Qualifikationsstelle versteht man eine Stelle als akademischer Mitarbeiter an der Universität, die in ihrer Dienstaufgabenbeschreibung einen erheblichen Forschungsanteil (mehr als 50%) umfasst und in deren Rahmen man an einer Qualifikationsschrift (Dissertation) arbeitet.

§ 4 - Vorstand

Wieso ist der Vorstand aus 11 Mitgliedern zusammengesetzt?

Sowohl die Interessen der Wissenskulturen als auch die, die sich aus den Promotionsarten ergeben, sollen vertreten sein. Durch die Vertreter der Wissenskulturen ist jedoch nicht automatisch gewährleistet, dass die Promotionsarten ausreichend vertreten sind. Daher gibt es zusätzlich zu den acht Vertretern für die Wissenskulturen auch drei Vertreter für die Promotionsarten.
Da jede Wissenskultur mehrere Fakultäten umfasst, die ebenfalls individuellen Bedingungen unterliegen, sollen die zwei Vertreter einer Wissenskultur unterschiedlichen Fakultäten angehören. Bei zwei Vertretern pro Wissenskultur ist der Vorstand noch immer handlungsfähig, falls einzelne Mitglieder verhindert sind oder ausfallen.

Warum setzt sich der Vorstand nach Wissenskulturen zusammen und nicht beispielsweise nach den Fakultäten?

Ein Vertreter pro Fakultät würde zu einem sehr großen Vorstand führen, was die Handlungsfähigkeit beschränken würde. Außerdem ist erfahrungsgemäß nicht gewährleistet, dass sich aus jeder Fakultät ein Kandidat für den Vorstand findet.
Fakultätsspezifische Fragen können bei Bedarf in einer entsprechenden Arbeitsgruppe bearbeitet werden, damit die Fakultät zu ihrem Recht kommt.

Warum wird im Vorstand eine Unterscheidung von Promotionsarten vorgenommen?

Der Doktorandenkonvent möchte die Interessen aller Doktorandengruppen vertreten und berücksichtigen. Da jede Promotionsart mit unterschiedlichen Interessen, Fragestellungen, Belastungen und Anforderungen einhergeht, soll jeder dieser Formen mit einer eigenen Stimme Gewicht verliehen werden.

Warum bekommen die Promotionsstipendiaten keinen eigenen Vertreter im Vorstand?

Stipendiaten bilden keine eigene Promotionsart, da dies eine Finanzierungsform ist und keine Bestimmung der Art und Weise der Promotion. Als Stipendiat ist man in aller Regel entweder Individualpromovend oder gehört einem Graduiertenprogramm an; diese beiden Arten setzen den Rahmen der Promotionsbedingungen, nicht aber die Finanzierungsform.

Warum wird empfohlen, dass die Vertreter im Graduate Council vorzugsweise auch Vorstandsmitglieder sind?

Die Regelung soll die direkte Kommunikation der Ergebnisse aus dem Doktorandenkonvent erleichtern. Auf diese Weise kann der Doktorandenkonvent als gemeinsame Interessensvertretung aller Doktoranden von den anderen Universitätsorganen wahrgenommen werden.

§ 5 - Wahl des Vorstandes

Kann ich für mehrere Vorstandsämter gleichzeitig kandidieren und wie funktioniert das?

Jeder Doktorand kann gleichzeitig für seine Wissenskultur und seine Promotionsart kandidieren, aber nur einen Sitz erhalten. Gewinnt er aber beide Sitze, so erhält er automatisch den Sitz für den er prozentual die meisten Stimmen erhalten hat.

Beispiel:
Katharina (Chemie/Individualpromovendin) kandidiert für die Wissenskultur Naturwissenschaften und den Sitz der Individualpromotion. Sie erhält 300 von 1000 abgegebenen Stimmen der der Wissenskultur Naturwissenschaften zugehörigen Doktoranden, also 30%. Von den Individualpromovenden erhält sie 500 von 2000 Stimmen, also 25%. Sie erhält für beide Sitze jeweils die meisten Stimmen, gewinnt also die Wahl für beide Sitze. Obwohl sie absolut mehr Stimmen für den Sitz der Individualpromotion erhalten hat, bekommt sie den Sitz für ihre Wissenskultur zugewiesen.

Ich bin nicht bei meiner Fakultät als Doktorand angenommen - kann ich dennoch an der Wahl zum Doktorandenkonvent teilnehmen?

Leider sind nur von der jeweiligen Fakultät angenommene Doktoranden stimmberechtigt; dies ist vom Landeshochschulgesetz vorgegeben.

Wieso kann man bis zu fünfmal wiedergewählt werden?

Wenn sich jemand durch seine gesamte Promotionszeit engagieren möchte, sollte dies unterstützt werden. Die Kontinuität der Vorstandsarbeit wird dadurch gefördert. Mit Hinsicht auf die Promotion sollte eine Amtszeit jedoch nicht länger als sechs Jahre andauern.

Welcher Promotionsart gehöre ich an?

Es ist keine Ausnahme, wenn man mehreren Promotionsarten angehört. So kann man beispielsweise als Individualpromovend oder Mitglied eines Graduiertenprogramms gleichzeitig auch Doktorand mit Qualifikationsstelle sein. In diesem Fall kann man frei entscheiden, für welche Gruppe man wählen möchte. Gehört man zwei Promotionsarten an, so ist es erforderlich, dass man sich für eine Promotionsart entscheidet und innerhalb dieser seine Stimme abgibt, um Stimmdopplungen zu vermeiden.

Wann und wo muss ich mich entscheiden, für welche Promotionsart ich abstimmen möchte?

Die Entscheidung, für welche Promotionsart man wählen möchte, erfolgt spätestens bei der Wahl, d.h. bei der Vollversammlung, wenn gegen Vorlage des Nachweises der Annahme als Doktorand die Stimmzettel ausgegeben werden.

Wie wird bei der Wahl entschieden, wer eine Wissenskultur vertritt?

Zunächst gilt natürlich, dass derjenige den Sitz erhält, der die meisten Stimmen hat. Da jedoch möglichst viele Fakultäten repräsentiert werden sollen, wird auch bei geringerem Stimmenanteil jenem Kandidaten Vorrang gegeben, der bei dem zweiten zu vergebenden Sitz einer noch nicht vertretenen Fakultät angehört.

Beispiel:
Alonso (Geowissenschaften), Barbara (Informatik) und Cem (Mathematik) kandidieren für die Vertretung der Wissenskultur Naturwissenschaften. A. erhält 25% der Stimmen der Doktoranden der Naturwissenschaften, auf B. entfallen 40% und auf C. 35%. C. hat mehr Stimmen als A., aber A. bekommt den zweiten Sitz, da C. der gleichen Fakultät angehört wie B.

Wieso gilt das Prinzip der Juniorität bei Stimmengleichheit?

Indem „jüngere” Doktoranden (d. h. die sich in einem frühen Stadium ihrer Promotion befinden) bevorzugt werden, soll gewährleistet sein, dass ältere Doktoranden zum Ende ihrer Promotion entlastet werden und eine kontinuierliche Weitergabe der Aufgaben des Vorstands erfolgen kann.

Warum muss man „mindestens sieben Kandidaten“ bei der Beantragung der Abwahl haben?

Wenn eine Abwahl angestrebt wird (z. B. aufgrund unzureichender Aufgabenerfüllung des amtierenden Vorstands) sollte dies „konstruktiv“ (im demokratischen Sinne) sein, damit die Interessensvertretung der Doktoranden fortgesetzt werden kann.

§ 6 - Tagung des Konvents

Ich möchte ein Anliegen vor den Doktorandenkonvent bringen - wie geht das?

Ein entsprechender Antrag für eine reguläre Sitzung muss bis zwei Wochen vor dem angekündigten Termin beim Vorstand eingegangen sein. Wurde die Tagesordnung bereits veröffentlicht, ist es dennoch möglich, kurzfristig aufgenommen zu werden, sofern die zeitliche Planung dies zulässt.

Warum ist auf regulären Sitzungen nur der Vorstand stimmberechtigt?

Durch diese Regelung wird gewährleistet, dass bei regulären Sitzungen keine Gruppe durch überproportionale Anwesenheit partikulare Interessen durchsetzen kann. Der Aufbau des Vorstandes und seine ausschließliche Stimmberechtigung stellen sicher, dass alle Doktoranden gleichberechtigt vertreten werden, auch wenn sie nicht bei der regulären Sitzung anwesend sein können.

§ 7 - Arbeitsgruppen

Ich möchte eine Arbeitsgruppe ins Leben rufen bzw. habe mich schon mit anderen Doktoranden zu einem bestimmten Thema ausgetauscht - wie gehe ich vor?

Sobald mindestens drei Doktoranden ein Thema für relevant halten, können sie die Gründung einer offiziellen Arbeitsgruppe beantragen; ein formloses Anschreiben oder eine Mail an den Vorstand, der diese dann bei der kommenden regulären Sitzung bestätigt, genügt. Die Motivation und das Anliegen für das Fach/die Fakultät soll kurz geschildert werden.

Kann ich prinzipiell bei allen Arbeitsgruppen mitarbeiten?

Ja, mit Ausnahme der fakultätsspezifischen Arbeitsgruppen, zu denen nur Doktoranden der entsprechenden Fakultät zugelassen sind.

Was passiert mit den Ergebnissen einer Arbeitsgruppe?

Sie werden auf einer regulären Sitzung vorgestellt und in zusammenfassender Form auf der Website des Doktorandenkonvents vorgestellt.

 

Verantwortlich: E-Mail
Letzte Änderung: 16.09.2016
zum Seitenanfang/up